View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:24 pm

Hello from first time beetle owner (Maryland Heights, MO) 
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder

Post Hello from first time beetle owner (Maryland Heights, MO)
Hello all,

Name is Joe, I'm a first time Beetle owner. Although I'm handy, I'm not a mechanic - even though my dad and all of my uncles are, it skipped over me I guess. I bought this beetle because I love Volkswagen and have always owned one in some form or another (Rabbit, Fox, Jetta, Routan). We've always had them in the family also, my Mom drives a water cooled beetle, aunt has a Toureg, Grandma had a rabbit.

Anyway, I have a 1971 super beetle that I bought off craigslist. Had no brakes (zero brakes, interesting ride home with lots of down shifting) and ran pretty terrible. Over the past few weeks I've been getting it road and safety inspection ready. Here's what I have done so far:

- New rotors, shoes, springs, hoses all the way around. Basically everything but the master cylinder which I have and am ready to replace.
- New muffler and tail pipes.
- Oil change.
- Valve adjustment.
- New spark plugs and wires.
- New rear shocks.

Not too bad for a non mechanic. Been studying the bentley manual and checked out a couple of the bugme videos.

Still to do:
- Still needs new front shocks as the steering wheel sort of turns back and forth an inch or two if I hit any turbulence during a wide turn with some speed.
- Need to adjust the carb. After changing the plugs, adjusting the valves and changing the muffler it needed it, but I think my messing with it made it worse.
- Need to adjust timing, I don't have the proper notches in the wheel to tell me the right degree, so I've been delaying that.
- The vacuum gauge doesn't work, not sure what it's for.
- The temperature gauge doesn't work.
- The fuel gauge is way off. Might need a new sending unit. Might go w/ a whole new tank because I fear the current one is leaking.